Census IDTAO2010
LocationQingdao, (former DEK) Christuskirche
BuilderJaeger & Brommer

TAO2010 is a tracker action, 24-stop organ buit by Jaeger and Brommer for the former DEK Christuskirche in Qingdao.

The installation is significant in that it represents a new twist in the ‘organ race’ (see FAQs): an attempt to replicate an organ lost in the first 70 years of the 20th Century. The instrument replicates to stop list (with 4 additional stops) and the general appearance of TAO1909, destroyed in the Cultural Revolution.

The specs may be accessed at: https://www.waldkircher-orgelbau.de/orgelgalerie/qingdao-ch-kirche.html

The four new stops (not found in the original 1909 Link organ) are: GT Trompette 8′, SW Clarinette 8′, Vox Humana 8′, and Ped Flöte 4′.

The organ was dedicated on 23 October 2010, and recitals given by German organist Daniel Tappe and Korean organist Jeong-Hwa So.

The former DEK Christuskirche, Qingdao.

Plan and elevation of TAO2010.

The Christuskirche, ready for the organ dedication.

Console of TAO2010.

Organ builder Wolfgang Brommer, and Project founder Prof. Urrows at the dedication of TAO2010.

Project founder, Prof. David Francis Urrows, at TAO2010 shortly after the dedication.